CES 2017 ended with no phone announcements from HTC. That’s because the Taiwanese company chose to save its next launch for January 12, which may see the HTC U Ultra and U Play on display.

With only a day left before the reveal, several leaks have already been unearthed for HTC’s first set of phones since the Bolt. While the 5.2-inch U Play with its midrange specs hasn’t gained much interest yet, the U Ultra is building up to be a head-turner.

If rumors are indeed true, the U Ultra will have a secondary screen above its 6-inch main display, similar to LG’s implementation on the V20 and V10. And just like the LG flagships, this additional display should present you with app shortcuts and basic information even when the phone is on standby.

Just as interesting is the possible inclusion of the same 12-megapixel main camera found on the HTC-made Google Pixel phones. Yes, that would be the highest-rated camera shooter in the history of DxOMark — and in the eyes of many users.

Other specs involve one of Qualcomm’s flagship processors, 4GB of memory, Android 7.0 Nougat, and exclusion of the 3.5mm headphone jack, just like on the HTC Bolt.

HTC will put all rumors to rest on January 12 at 4PM (GMT+8) or 3AM EST/12AM PST.

SEE ALSO
HTC Bolt is all-metal, water-resistant, and outdated

Source: Venture Beat